We're delighted to announce that we're among the first cloud practice management software companies to offer a bi-directional integration with the new Zoetis Fuse. Ordering and receiving results has never been easier.
Welcome to the tip of the week. This week we take a closer look at tasks.
What are tasks?
Tasks are a to-do list for the practice. They can be assigned to individuals or groups. Tasks can be used for all kinds of things. For example, if a client calls and wants to speak with the doctor, but the doctor is unavailable, a task can be assigned to the doctor with the client's information. The doctor sees the task, calls the client, and completes the task. Tasks can also used to manage call-backs, request approval for refills, and notify doctors when lab results are available.
How do tasks get created?
Great question! There are two ways to create tasks. Tasks can be created manually by clicking on the bell icon at the top of the page (that's the tasks shortcut). The new task from will allow you to specify who the task should be assigned to, what it relates to, and when it is due.
Tasks can also be created automatically using actions. It just so happens that we discussed actions last week - how convenient! Using actions to create tasks will save a ton of time and will ensure that things get done on time.
Some tasks are created automatically by our software. For example, if you're using one of our labs integration, a task will automatically be created for the doctor that ordered the test. The same thing is true for our PACS integrations.
Lastly, tasks can be created from the patient or client profile. This is also where you can view all of the completed, open, and in progress tasks (more on this below).
How do I know if I have a new task?
It's pretty easy actually - an alert will pop up on the screen to let you know that you have a new task.
If you have any tasks that are past due, a red dot will start to flash on the bell icon at the top of the page (see the image earlier in the post).
By the way, there is also an option to view everyone's tasks at the same time. This is available by permission, but it is useful to have a global view of everything that's outstanding, particularly if you're a practice manager or an administrator.
What do I do with my tasks when I'm done?
You complete them. When a task is completed it will be removed from your list. If the task was associated with a particular client and/or patient, it will be saved under the "tasks" tab in the applicable profile. This allow you to review all of the history relating to that client's or patient's tasks.
Tasks are a great way to keep everyone on the same page, and to make sure that things get done on time. It's time to ditch those sticky notes!